LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION



550 West 7TH Avenue, Suite 1640 Anchorage, Alaska 99501 PHONE: 907-269-4559 / 4587 FAX: 907-269-4563

STATE OF ALASKA LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION

Minutes of Meeting for November 29, 2023 at 10:00 am
Anchorage
Via Zoom Meeting

Chair Larry Wood called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. Present at the meeting were: Commissioners John Harrington, Larry Wood, Ely Cyrus and Clay Walker. Commissioner Clayton Trotter was not present. All commissioners attended via video teleconference. Also present were: Jedediah Smith, staff to the LBC, Assistant Attorney General Gene Hickey, Representative Mike Cronk, Dave Stancliff, Sara Chambers, Sally Russell Cox and Lori Criqui.

Commissioner Harrington moved to amend the agenda adding item "election of a vice-chair." Commissioner Walker seconded the amendment. Motion to amend the agenda passed 4-0.

Commissioner Harrington moved to approve the amended agenda. Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. The agenda was approved 4-0.

Commissioner Harrington moved to approve minutes of the August 10, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. Minutes approved 4-0

LBC Staff informed the commission that the City of Hoonah's borough incorporation petition had been accepted for filing on November 27. All related documents would be posted online before December 1. LBC staff will be traveling to Hoonah the week of January 9 to conduct an informational meeting in the community. The public comment period would run through February 29, 2024. Staff is also preparing the draft annual report to the legislature, and the next LBC meeting would be in-person in Anchorage on January 19, 2024, to consider and approve the annual report. Pertinent topics of interest will also be presented by department representatives

Commissioner Walker moved that John Harrington be elected as Vice-Chair of the Local Boundary Commission. Commissioner Cyrus seconded the motion. Commissioner Harrington has served on

LBC Meeting Minutes November 29, 2023 Public Meeting Page 2 of 3

the LBC for 15 years, and Chair Walker said his experience will be a valuable asset to the commission. The motion passed 4-0.

LBC Staff provided an overview of the draft regulations language allowing for the reclassification of certain first class cities.

Chair Wood said the LBC had previously anticipated conducting a public hearing regarding the draft regulations. Because LBC had received no public comments, he recommended that the commission forgo a public hearing and invited a motion to that effect.

Commissioner Walker moved to forgo an oral public hearing. Commissioner Harrington seconded the motion.

Commissioner Cyrus asked whether a public hearing is required. LBC staff Smith said an oral public hearing is not required by law for a regulations project, and the public notice regarding the draft regulations had not included a date for a public hearing.

Sara Chambers said listening to public comments on the draft regulations is essentially a public hearing.

Assistant Attorney General Gene Hickey said that public comment on an agenda item would not be considered a public hearing on the draft regulations, and that the LBC is in compliance with the Open Meetings Act. He advised that there would not be any harm or legal impediment to accepting additional comments today on the regulations as proposed.

Chair Wood opened the floor to comments from the public. There were no public comments on the regulation action item.

Commissioner Harrington moved to approve the draft regulations related to the reclassification of certain first class cities (3 AAC 110.371, 3 AAC 110.400 and 3 AAC 110.710). Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. Commissioners Cyrus, Harrington, Walker and Wood voted yes. Motion passed 4-0.

There were no public comments on any non-agenda items or items not currently pending before the Commission.

There were no commissioner comments.

Commissioner Cyrus motioned to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:26 a.m.

APPROVED:	
LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION	

LARRY WOOD, CHAIR

ATTEST:

JEDEDIAH SMITH, STAFF

